Indoor Ponds – Hydroponics – Terrariums…

I am having so much fun creating my indoor garden, even though we’re still in the planning, decorating stages. Yesterday I bought the containers to be two of my new indoor ponds. I have got 12 fish, which gives them lots of space, but I want to do hydroponics, growing plants in the ponds, so technically I want a few fish in each pond, as the plants will take up space…

I much prefer keeping fish in a large container rather then a glass fish tank. as long as they have a filter {The plants} & sunlight {LED light} they are fine. I will have a oxygen pump going each day, the plants filter the water, the LED light acts as sun/day/grow light…

My bamboo is coming indoors, between the two indoor ponds. Bamboo likes some humidity, the pond water will add humidity around the bamboo. Its strange, every year I used to pull out the cabinet to spray mildew/mould remover. Since my indoor pond has been there ‘No mildew/black mould’…I was concerned I would cause more damp & make it worse, but no, it is completely clear…

I wonder if I can grow water lilies indoors ? If I can that would be great…I assume they need lots of sunlight…Or do they?…I need to research indoor water lilies…

Apparently not…but I don’t see why not. As long as they have enough light. Unfortunately they are quite expensive to experiment with & fail…I could get an artificial water lily…

I love this idea, but not keeping one lone fish in a small glass container. I like the idea of growing water plants as houseplants in glass containers. Then again…the non stop water changing & cleaning. I have got a large glass bowl/fish tank I rescued from going to the tip. I am not going to put fish in it. I am going to plant it as a terrarium…

Though I do want the leafy, jungle effect…

Right, rest over, more work…

Leave a Reply

